Inclusive Church and Ministry

This is part of a series of posts on my understanding of faith, ministry and the church. I would enjoy feedback and your response to my answers to these questions.

Question – Describe your understanding of an inclusive church and ministry.

Response – My response begins:

My understanding of an inclusive church and ministry is that of a welcoming community that extends hospitality to all. I understand an inclusive church and ministry to be based on the ministry of Jesus who particularly sought to enter into relationship with those who were despised by the world.

“When the Pharisees saw this, they asked his disciples, ‘Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?’ On hearing this, Jesus said, ‘It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.’” (Matthew 9:11-12 (TNIV)).

Discussion

  1. How would you respond to this question?
  2. Where do you agree with my response?
  3. Where do you disagree with my response?
