Collaboration of Teams

Earlier this month, the Congregational Care and Discipleship teams met together for the good part of a day. The purpose was for a time of mutual understanding and collaboration. This was the first time, to my knowledge, that these teams had met together. My sense was that there was some hesitancy on both sides in the morning, which changed to excitement about the possibilities for the future and we ended with cross team placement for continued work on ongoing projects. I think that collaborative efforts like this will continue to be an important part of life at Resurrection. It was certainly valuable for me – hearing other ideas for the ministry in which I was most directly engaged and also being able to get involved in some areas in which I have passion, but which may not be my direct responsibility.

So here is my question for you – How does this happen? At work, at home, at church – how do you effectively balance listening to others and collaborating on projects while continuing to fulfill primary responsibilities? I wonder if this question of effective collaboration is true for multiple teams in a church, individuals, and even among different organizations – paid or unpaid persons in all of these situations. I know that I have a lot to learn about how this effectively takes place. What do you have to offer?

