Annual Conference Facilitates Ministry (4 of 5)

This is part of a series of posts in which I am responding to questions of purpose and improvement for the annual conference in the United States.

In paragraph 601 of the United Methodist Book of Discipline there is a dual purpose for the annual conference – to equip local churches for ministry and to provide a connection for ministry beyond the local church.

I believe that the annual conference provides a great connection for ministry beyond the local church. I believe that annual conferences are more effective in fulfilling this part of their purpose. Both within the annual conference and as an annual conference there are opportunities for ministry with and to other congregations that would not otherwise be possible. I have been familiar with missional efforts as an annual conference that I have seen as a part of God’s kingdom.

What do you think? Additions?

