On the Other Side

Yesterday was the service celebrating the life of my Grandma Alice Conard. We gathered at First United Methodist in Great Bend around 10:30 AM for visitation, a meal from the United Methodist Women at 11:30, service of death and resurrection at 1:00 PM and committal at the Larned Cemetary following the service.

Since July 1, 2006 this was the first funeral that I had attended at which I was not officiating. It was good to be on the other side (in the congregation and not leading). The service started out with very familiar words which I have said at funerals over the past year and a half. It was very briefly strange to be on the receiving ends of those words, but not for long. The service, visitation, committal, the conversations with family, the words offered by the pastor – all of it really did help provide closure and comfort. Thanks be to God.

5 thoughts on “On the Other Side

  1. I wish I could have been there. My husband and I talked about it a while back when she broke her hip and I knew it wouldn’t be too long for her, but I’m a little too pregnant for the trip. I will miss her though. She was always such an interesting person, doing so many things so late into her life that I am amazed at what she accomplished.

  2. Pingback: Reflections from Christmas Eve for a New Year « Thoughts of Resurrection

Comments are closed.