Thinking or Feeling?

Last week I interviewed for a clinical pastoral education position at St. Luke’s Hospital.

I felt as if I learned more about self-reflection in less than one hour than I may have learned in the past 1.5 years. I discovered that I have a clear tendency to start with my head, to understand, to comprehend, or to know things. I have a much lower tendency to interface with the way I am feeling about a situation.

Do you find that you react most naturally to situations by thinking or with emotions?

5 thoughts on “Thinking or Feeling?

  1. I’m definitely a thinker. I ponder. Analyze. OVERanalyze, more often than not. I’m aware that emotions are there and do feel them (I’m not a robot or anything. lol), although sometimes it takes me a while to be able to articulate what those feelings are because first I need to process them through my mind. I’m not sure if you’ve ever had this problem, but this think-first tendency of mine really annoys some people who have the reverse process and want/expect an immediate response from me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Elizabeth – I have had the experience where thinking first can be annoying to those who feel first. This is the way of things, I suppose…

    Jason – ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Absolutely. I’m an INTJ, and it fits me to a T…literally!

    When someone used to ask me what I felt, I’d respond, “Well, I think I’m feeling…”

Comments are closed.