Scripture Monday – 2 Kings 10:15

John Wesley either quotes this passage or something very similar is attributed to him. Can you help clarify for me?

2 Kings 10:15

“After he left there, he came upon Jehonadab son of Rekab, who was on his way to meet him. Jehu greeted him and said, “Are you in accord with me, as I am with you?” “I am,” Jehonadab answered. “If so,” said Jehu, “give me your hand.” So he did, and Jehu helped him up into the chariot.”

One thought on “Scripture Monday – 2 Kings 10:15

  1. In his sermon Catholic Spirit, Wesley uses this passage to point out that though we may be different in our opinions, we can certainly work together in the love of Christ. That’s the bottom line of what he is talking about in that message. It’s a good read (as are many of Wesley’s sermons). You can find it online if you have 20 minutes or so to read through it.

    While I understand that there are several chasms that separate United Methodists theologically, this Scripture (and Wesley’s sermon on the topic) should be a reminder that we can accomplish far more together than we can apart.

Comments are closed.