Categories
renewing the church united methodist church

Three Questions to Ask Yourself in a #GC2012 Committee (@TheKLC: 1 of 10)

This past fall and winter, I had the opportunity to take part in the Leadership and Faith: Transforming Communities program through the Kansas Leadership Center with the Missions team at Resurrection West. I want to share my reflections and learnings from that time in light of the General Conference 2012 of The United Methodist Church.

The various committees of General Conference do important work of the church that has significant impact on the outcomes of the entire gathering. After the first few hours of committee take a moment to reflect on your role int he group and know that if you want to have a different impact on the system, you need to take different actions. Here are three questions that may be helpful in trying to make progress on issues that you care about.

  1. What am I trying to accomplish?
  2. How are my interventions impacting the group?
  3. What are the results of my behavior on the group?

What else have you found to be helpful in your committee work at General Conference 2012?

By Andrew Conard

Fifth-generation Kansan, United Methodist preacher, husband, and father. Passionate about teaching, preaching, and fostering inclusive communities. I am dedicated to advancing racial reconciliation and helping individuals grow spiritually, and I am excited to serve where God leads.

2 replies on “Three Questions to Ask Yourself in a #GC2012 Committee (@TheKLC: 1 of 10)”

Comments are closed.